Lorcan Tucker heroics not enough as George Munsey puts Wolves to the sword


OAK HILL, Wicklow – A smash-and-grab innings of 69 from just 29 balls by Scottish international George Munsey led Scotland A to victory over Ireland Wolves today by 7 wickets at Oak Hill Cricket Club, levelling the series 1-1.

Earlier, Wolves’ wicketkeeper-batsman Lorcan Tucker had registered 51 from just 19 balls, including hitting five consecutive sixes off one Michael Leask over before being caught on the boundary attempting to make it six in a row.

Having won the toss and electing to bat, Ireland Wolves lost Jack Tector early for 2, but recovered well and put up a good fight for the first 13 overs. Led by Tucker’s half-century, and a determined 33 from Gareth Delany, further supported by Harry Tector’s innings of 22, the home side found themselves at 133-3 in the 14th over. The last six overs though saw six wickets fall for just 32 runs, as the Wolves finished possibly below par on 166-9 from their 20 overs.

Cricket Ireland


What @lorcan_tucker did to @leasky29 in his second over earlier today!

See Cricket Ireland’s other Tweets


The Scottish response was rapid – they lost their first wicket in the fourth over, however already had 47 on the board, thanks in large part to Munsey’s power hitting.

The wicket of Finlay McCreath (6) did little to stem the run flow, with Munsey (69), captain Dylan Budge (28 from 19 balls) and Craig Wallace (37* from 24 balls) taking Scotland A through to victory by seven wickets.

Craig Wallace was named Player of the Series, and the two sides drew the series 1-1, after the first match was lost due to rain.


Ireland Wolves v Scotland A, T20 match, 11 June 2019, Oak Hill

Ireland Wolves 166-9 (20 overs; L Tucker 51, G Delany 33, H Tector 22; M Leask 3-42)
Scotland A 167-3 (15 overs; G Munsey 69, C Wallace 37*; S Getkate 1-38)

Scotland A won by 7 wickets

Match scorecard here (being updated shortly)


Cricket Ireland


With a drawn T20 series, Scotland A’s @DylanBudge and Ireland Wolves’ @harry_tector accept the trophy from Cricket Ireland President David O’Connor. ☘️🏏

See Cricket Ireland’s other Tweets
Also read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here